CAMP @ Bangalore - Summer School 2018

Venue: National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bangalore, India

Duration: 1-16 July, 2018

Click here to view the Schedule

CAMP @ Bangalore (Computational Approaches to Memory and Plasticity at NCBS, Bangalore) is a 16-day summer school on the theory and simulation of learning, memory and plasticity in the brain. PhD students and post-docs from theoretical and/or experimental backgrounds (physics, math, neuroscience, engineering, etc.) are invited to apply. Familiarity with programming, dynamical systems, and/or computational neuroscience is desirable, but not necessary. We may also select a small number of exceptional undergraduate and Masters level students for the course, if they have sufficient background via courses and especially via project / hobby work related to these areas (write in your statement of interest & CV). The course will start with remedial tutorials on neuroscience / math / programming and then work upwards from sub-cellular electrical and chemical signaling in neurons, onward to micro-circuits and networks, all with an emphasis on learning, memory and plasticity.

We plan to have two 1 hour 30 min lectures in the mornings, hands-on tutorials in the afternoon/evenings, and also research lectures/discussions/project work in the evenings. Students will work on small projects and present it during the school. Projects may be self-chosen or from those suggested by the lecturers.

Any enquiries may be e-mailed to ta at


  Moshe Abeles (ICNC, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel, and Bar-Ilan University, Ramat-Gan Israel)

  Collins Assisi (Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune)

  Upinder Bhalla (National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bangalore)
  Dean Buonomano (Brain Research Institute, University of California, Los Angeles)
sachin deshmukh   Sachin Deshmukh (Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore)
Robert Guetig   Robert Guetig  (Max Planck Institute of Experimental Medicine, Germany)
Arvind Kumar   Arvind Kumar (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm)
 Suhita Nadkarni   Suhita Nadkarni (Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune)
 Rishikesh Narayanan   Rishikesh Narayanan  (Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore)
  Charan Ranganath   Charan Ranganath (University of California, Davis)
  Vatsala Thirumalai   Vatsala Thirumalai (National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bangalore)